my thought, my perception, my sense

Rogers pcb board

My final project requires me to use a RF PCB board which is not available to buy in my country (as far as I know). So I decided to order it from one of the most known PCB manufacturers, Rogers Corporation. The project I’ve been worked on (Doherty power amplifier for LTE base station) is based on NXP LDMOS power transistor. From many application notes I read from NXP websites, they use Rogers PCB too. So, I choose to adapt their PCB selection and my option goes to Rogers 4350B.

Rogers claims in its datasheet, Rogers 4350B has a very good microstrip insertion loss which is shown in great detail here:

chart3

At my power amplifier operation frequency (1.8 GHz), the loss is about –0.05 dB/in. Compare this to a FR-4 PCB (which is very easy to find) that has –0.15 dB/in loss. So I’m quiet sure that my decision is correct.

At first I got confused about how to order it online. Together with my lecturer, we tried to find it from DigiKey but we couldn’t find any. Several days later, my other lecturer suggested me to order it directly from Rogers website. I browsed the site and I found a part where we can order a sample (free). Then I found this University Program from Rogers that requires us to register our University in order to get a sample for University academic purpose. So I began the registration process online. The response was pretty fast. At exactly the same day we registered, my lecturer got an e-mail from Rogers Corporation at USA with the order number already. Wow. Later on we got e-mail from Rogers subsidiary at Singapore (I think because its closer to my country). Hence, we contacted this officer from Rogers Singapore about our order.

I asked the officer when will our order be ready to be delivered. He said that it requires about 10 days for the PCB board to be manufactured. Wow, that must be a very state-of-the-art one. After almost 2 weeks waiting I contacted him again about our order. Then he said we need to send a DHL account for them to ship. At that time I think it’s not a difficult task to find any DHL account in my campus. I was wrong. It took about 5 days for me wandering around ask any people I know about DHL account. None of them has it. OK, then I asked the Rogers officer whether a FedEx account can be used. The answer was yes, so I immediately send him the FedEx account I got from my lecturer. It was Friday evening that made me think the order would be processed the next day. I waited till Tuesday and tracked my order through FedEx web, and I got it had been processed since I sent the FedEx account. This a great response from FedEx. Finally my order arrived at Tuesday (from California on Friday evening) and it was packaged really nice. Thank you Rogers for sending us the sample. Thank you FedEx for the extraordinary delivery service. Now what I need to do is to deal with whole implementing stuff with this Rogers PCB in order to finish my final project.

P14-05-12_12-58 P14-05-12_13-12

Leave a Reply

